Direkt zum Inhalt

Convoco Forum 2016

30/07/2016

Am 30. Juli 2016 fand das zwölfte Convoco Forum in Salzburg statt. In diesem Jahr wurde das Thema “Autorität im Wandel” diskutiert.

Das Convoco Forum wurde von Dr. Corinne Flick – Gründerin und Vorstand der Convoco Stiftung – mit ihrer Rede zum Thema Autorität eingeführt. Sie grenzte Autorität klar von Macht ab und machte die Zusammenhänge zwischen Autorität, Freiheit und Verantwortung deutlich. Sie sprach über die Forderung vieler Menschen nach mehr direkter Demokratie und die Gefahr, die dem repräsentativen demokratischen System hieraus entsteht.

Prof. Roger Scruton – Philosoph, Autor und Senior Research Fellow für Philosophie, Blackfriars Hall, Oxford und Senior Fellow des Ethics and Public Policy Center, Washington, D.C. – hielt den ersten Vortrag des Tages und beschäftigte sich in seiner Rede “Responding Responsibly” mit der Verantwortung, die Politiker gegenüber dem Volk haben.

Anschließend folgte das erste Forumsgespräch zum Thema “Autorität der Parlamente vs. Direkte Demokratie”. Unter der Leitung von Dr. Reinhard Müller – Redakteur der FAZ – diskutierten Prof. Stefan Korioth – Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Öffentliches Recht und Kirchenrecht der LMU, München –, Prof. Thomas Hoeren – Direktor des Instituts für Informations-, Telekommunikations- und Medienrecht, Universität Münster –, Prof. Peter M. Huber – Richter des Bundesverfassungsgerichts – und Prof. Rudolf Mellinghoff – Präsident des Bundesfinanzhofs – über Chancen und Gefahren von mehr direkter Demokratie in Deutschland und Europa.

Im zweiten Forumsgespräch des Tages wurde über die “Autorität der Notenbanken und Märkte am Beispiel Brexit” diskutiert. Prof. Clemens Fuest – Präsident des ifo Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung – führte in das Panel ein und moderierte die Diskussion zu den Implikationen des Brexits für Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft mit Prof. Roland Berger – Ehrenvorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats von Roland Berger Strategy Consultants GmbH –, Dr. Nikolaus von Bomhard – Vorstandsvorsitzender der Münchener Rück AG – und Prof. Jörg Rocholl – Präsident der ESMT Berlin.

Play

Einführung Corinne M. Flick

Play

Einführung Corinne M. Flick

Play

Roger Scruton - Responding Responsibly

Play

Podiumsdiskussion - Autorität der Parlamente vs. Direkte Demokratie

Play

Podiumsdiskussion - Autorität der Notenbanken und Märkte am Beispiel Brexit

Der zweite Teil des Forums begann mit einem eindrücklichen Vortrag von Dr. Peter Maurer – Präsident des Internationalen Komitees vom Roten Kreuz – zu “Machtfragmentierung, Gewalt und die Autorität des Rechts – ein Blick auf bewaffnete Konflikte”. Er plädierte für mehr Diplomatie, Konsens- und Vertrauensbildung und beantwortete im Anschluss die zahlreichen Fragen der 260 Gäste.

Im Anschluss führte Prof. Kai Konrad – Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Steuerrecht und Öffentliche Finanzen – in das letzte Forumsgespräch des Abends ein und moderierte die Diskussion zu „Autorität internationaler Institutionen vs. Erstarkung nationaler Kräfte“ mit Prof. Christoph Paulus – Direktor des Instituts für Interdisziplinäre Restrukturierung e.V. –, Prof. Albrecht Ritschl – Professor für Economic History an der London School of Economics – und Prof. Wolfgang Schön – Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Steuerrecht und Öffentliche Finanzen.

Das Convoco Forum fand seinen Abschluss mit einem Vortrag von Prof. Christoph Paulus zur Frage, ob und inwieweit das Recht noch Autorität besitzt.

Play

Peter Maurer - Machtfragmentierung, Gewalt und die Autorität des Rechts – ein B…

Play

Peter Maurer - Machtfragmentierung, Gewalt und die Autorität des Rechts – ein B…

Play

Podiumsdiskussion - Autorität internationaler Institutionen vs. Erstarkung nati…

Play

Christoph Paulus - Hat das Recht noch Autorität?

Am Vormittag kam zum ersten Mal die junge Convoco 3.0 Gruppe, die das jeweilige Jahresthema aus der Perspektive der Digitalisierung beleuchtet, zu einer Podiumsdiskussion zusammen. Nach einer kurzen Willkommensrede von Bertram Böckel – Managing Director der Martin Braun KG – führte Bruce Pon – Gründer und CEO von ascribe.io – in das Thema “How Blockchain Technology impacts our social and economic environment” ein. Er diskutierte anschließend auf dem Podium mit Dr. Marcella Atzori – Researcher am Research Centre for Blockchain Technologies –, Dr. Garrick Hileman – Senior Research Associate am Cambridge Centre for Alternative Finance – und Dr. Julie Maupin – Senior Researcher am Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht – unter der Leitung von Ada Yi Zhao – Gründerin und CEO von Curated Ventures – über Kryptowährungen und die Möglichkeiten und Gefahren von Blockchain-Technologien.

Play

Einführung Bertram Böckel

Play

Einführung Bertram Böckel

Play

Vortrag Bruce Pon und Podiumsdiskussion - How Blockchain Technology impacts our…

Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel

Skip to main content

Convoco Forum 2016

30/07/2016

On July 30, 2016 the twelfth Convoco Forum took place in Salzburg. This year, the topic under discussion was “Authority in Transformation.”

The Convoco Forum started off with an introduction on the subject of authority by Dr. Corinne Flick, Founder and Chair of the Convoco Foundation. She made a clear distinction between authority and power and emphasized the connections between authority, freedom, and responsibility. She spoke about many people’s demand for more direct democracy and in what way this demand poses dangers for the representative democratic system.

Prof. Roger Scruton, philosopher, author, Senior Research Fellow at Blackfriars Hall, Oxford, and Senior Fellow at the Ethics and Public Policy Center, Washington, D.C., gave the first talk of the day, “Responding Responsibly,” and addressed the responsibility that politicians have towards the people.

There followed the first panel on “Parliamentary Authority vs. Direct Democracy.” Moderated by Dr. Reinhard Müller, Editor at the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, panelists Prof. Stefan Korioth, Chair of Public and Ecclesiastical Law, LMU, Munich, Prof. Thomas Hoeren, Executive Director of the Institute for Information, Telecommunication and Media Law, University of Münster, Prof. Peter M. Huber, Judge at the Federal Constitutional Court of Germany, and Prof. Rudolf Mellinghoff, President of the Federal Fiscal Court, discussed the opportunities and dangers of more direct democracy in Germany and Europe.

The Forum’s second panel discussion addressed “The Authority of the Central Banks and the Markets” with Brexit as a case study. Prof. Clemens Fuest, President of the ifo Institute for Economic Research, introduced the panel and moderated the discussion about the implications of Brexit for politics, economics, and society with Prof. Roland Berger, Honorary Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Roland Berger Strategy Consultants GmbH, Dr. Nikolaus von Bomhard, Chairman of the Board of Management of Munich Re, and Prof. Jörg Rocholl, President of the European School for Management and Technology, Berlin.

Play

Introduction Corinne M. Flick

Play

Introduction Corinne M. Flick

Play

Roger Scruton - “Responding Responsibly”

Play

Panel discussion - “Parliamentary Authority vs. Direct Democracy”

Play

Panel discussion - “The Authority of the Central Banks and the Markets”

The second part of the Convoco Forum began with an impressive lecture by Peter Maurer, President of the International Committee of the Red Cross. He talked about “Power Fragmentation, Violence, and the Authority of Law” and looked at contemporary armed conflicts. He made the case for more diplomacy, consensus, and confidence-building, and answered numerous questions from the 260 guests.

This was followed by an introduction to the third panel discussion by Prof. Kai Konrad, Director at the Max Planck Institute for Tax Law and Public Finance. Alongside Prof. Kai Konrad an interdisciplinary discussion on “The Authority of International Institutions vs. the Reassertion of the Nation State” involved Prof. Christoph Paulus, Director of the Institute for Interdisciplinary Restructuring e.V., Prof. Albrecht Ritschl, Professor of Economic History at the London School of Economics, and Prof. Wolfgang Schön, Director at the Max Planck Institute for Tax Law and Public Finance.

The day was concluded by Prof. Christoph Paulus with his discussion of the question of whether the law still has authority.

Play

Peter Maurer - “Power Fragmentation, Violence, and the Authority of Law”

Play

Peter Maurer - “Power Fragmentation, Violence, and the Authority of Law”

Play

Panel discussion - “The Authority of International Institutions vs. the Reasser…

Play

Christoph Paulus - "Does Law still have Authority"

For the first time, the young Convoco 3.0 group met in the morning for a panel discussion on “How blockchain technology impacts our social and economic environment.” Convoco 3.0 aims to look at Convoco’s yearly changing topics from the perspective of digitization. After a few words of welcome from Dr. Bertram Böckel, Managing Director of Martin Braun KG, the topic was introduced by Bruce Pon, Founder and CEO of ascribe.io. He then discussed cryptocurrencies and the possibilities and dangers of blockchain technologies together with the moderator Ada Yi Zhao, Founder and CEO of Curated Ventures, and panelists Dr. Marcella Atzori, Researcher at the Research Centre for Blockchain Technologies, Dr. Garrick Hileman, Senior Research Associate at the Cambridge Centre for Alternative Finance, and Dr. Julie Maupin, Senior Researcher at the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law.

Play

Introduction Bertram Böckel

Play

Introduction Bertram Böckel

Play

Lecture Bruce Pon and panel discussion - “How Blockchain Technology impacts ou…

Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Lecture
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Audience
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel
Convoco Forum 2016 Panel